Welcome to Choccolocco Park in Oxford, Alabama THE BEST PLAY HERE!

Choccolocco Park Blog

Choccolocco Park Welcomes The NJCAA Softball Championships

Choccolocco Park Welcomes The NJCAA Softball Championships

The City of Oxford, along with Choccolocco Park, is excited to announce the arrival of the NJCAA (National Junior College Athletic Association) Division I and Division II Softball National Championships for the years 2021-2024. Being awarded the NJCAA Softball National Championship bid means a great deal to our city. Recruiting tournaments like this bring economic growth to the area and add to our residents’ quality of life.

The tournament will bring 16 teams from 16 regions across the nation. We are proud to have a facility capable of hosting a national championship and grateful to our city leadership, staff, and patrons who have contributed to the park’s success and national recognition. Oxford Parks and Recreation Director Don Hudson said, “We are very proud to host the NJCAA staff and teams for the National Championships and look forward to the opportunity.”

Dean Myrick, Alabama Community College Conference Commissioner, said, “I am thrilled and excited that Oxford and Choccolocco Park were awarded the NJCAA DI and DII National Softball Championships over the next four years. I want to thank Mayor Craft, Don Hudson, and their awesome staff for everything they did in submitting the first-class bid. The facilities at Choccolocco Park were second to none. I am also excited that the state of Alabama and Oxford will be showcased through NJCAA athletics. The teams, student-athletes, and fans alike will be amazed when they arrive. This will be a great event for many years. I look forward to working with the great people of Oxford and Choccolocco Park in the future.”

We look forward to welcoming all patrons to Choccolocco Park for the NJCAA National Championship starting in 2021.

Dates of tournament:

2021: May 26-29, 2021 (D-II)

2022: May 25-28, 2022 (D-II)

2023: May 24-27, 2023 (D-I)

2024: May 22-25, 2024 (D-I)